Week 4 – Rescue Tails – Two’s Company

Rocky light and shadow (1)

Rocky, our second rescue rottie in a month.

If you’ve been following these rescue tails [sic] you’ll know it began with one rescued rottweiler, Bane; just 24hrs away from being put to sleep in the pound.

Last week, on Facebook, another batch of urgent re-homing cases appeared on my timeline. Five dogs had just five days to find homes or be put to sleep, the clock was ticking.

Each day it was a relief to see the wonderfully generous offers of homes being confirmed. It was becoming clear, though, that the Rottweiler was proving harder home.

I asked myself if I thought I could possibly home another dog. All our previous rescues have been positive additions to our family; I had to at least ring the pound and find out some more details.

I did; and on the day he was due to be put asleep, we collected Rocky.

There are more urgent cases this week, and I have no doubt there will be more next week and the week after that. Our pounds and rescue centres may as well have revolving doors for the amount of animals surrendered, abandoned and re-homed. But I’ve tried to do my bit.

Now Bane’s Tumblr blog has been given the subtitle Bane & Rocky, the rescue rotties. It’s filled with their daily exploits, videos and photographs.

The constant abandonment of animals in this country is a disgrace. I sincerely hope dogs like Bane and Rocky will encourage you to consider giving a home to a rescue dog.

Rocky the Rottweiler, rescued on the day he was due to be put to sleep in the pound.

Rocky the Rottweiler, rescued on the day he was due to be put to sleep in the pound.

Leave a Reply

